New Maybelline the colossal kajal 24hour smudge proof with Aloe vera review , swatch and overall verdict

Kajal plays a major role in my makeup game,  The reasons are quite obvious as its one of those versatile makeup product through which anyone can step up their eye makeup game – it can be used as a base for smokey eye if smudged or can be used solo in upper and lower water line and would still make your eye stand out  , in any way I love a good jet black  kajal . Maybelline colossal kajal is a classic black kohl , its my HG product as I prefer it over many other kohls. Recently this brand came up with a new claim for this kajal and called it  – the  new 24HOUR  smudge proof colossal kajal  [ earlier it was 12hour claim] , pretty much curious and excited like always I did purchase this one , lets see how it turned out.

IMG_5917

Packaging:-

The packaging is similar like the previous one , it comes in same old bright yellow retractable pen packaging which I really like as its sturdy, travel friendly , sleek , lightweight  and appears quite unique from the rest .I was bit disheartened to see as I wanted something new from the packaging. The only little difference would be the brand ‘Maybelline’ written over a black background on the pencil, which earlier was not present!

Price:-

INR 180/-

Availability :-

At Maybelline counters and easily available online on nykaa, amazon ,purplle 

IMG_5939

IMG_5957IMG_5934

My take on the product:-

Pigmentation, shade , texture and staying ability :

I used the previous version of the Maybelline colossal kajal and it was impressive in few terms  . The new version of colossal kajal caught my eyes because of its 24 hours claim , I could notice slight difference in the formula too. Its super black, creamy and extremely pigmented , earlier I used to swipe at least two times to get maximum intensity out of it but this particular one does not need extra swipes , thanks to  its rich pigmentation . Maybelline also claims that the new formula is enriched with aloe vera which means that the kajal is suitable for sensitive eyes as well because aloe vera is known for its cooling effect . The claims of being smudge proof is also true as after application the kajal sets  easily without budging  or causing any kind of irritation  . Since the nature of the colossal kajal is soft and buttery , it glides easily and can be used in several ways- be it a smoldering  look or plain kajal look.

Coming to the staying ability  which is the main focus , [24Hour claim ]- I have oily lids and  this particular product pretty much satisfied me with its staying power as it was intact for good 9 hours on my eyes , however on my  lower water line which is much watery it faded a bit on the outer corners  after 5-6 hours  but the result was not messy as it does not  creases or causes a panda effect  , it just fades slightly. The only thing which I loved about the new formula is its  jet black color and  buttery texture apart from that everything is kind of same , also  an extra 2 hour staying power [definitely not 24hours ].

IMG_5946

Overall verdict:-

As mentioned earlier colossal kajal by Maybelline is my HG product no matter what I always reach out for this kohl . To sum up  I can say that the present version is much intense in color and pigmentation , the texture is smooth , matte  and works great on sensitive eyes too .Its smudge proof and water proof as well , I guess for the price tag the kajal definitely has amazing qualities in it . However the 24hours exaggerating claim  made by the brand is not true .

Rating :

4.8/5

herbeautyaffair-Approved!!

Connect with me further on,

INSTAGRAM:- beautyaffair101

TWITTER:-beautyaffair101

FB:-beautyaffair101

GOOGLE+:-beautyaffair101@gmail.com

Thank you:) Hope you like it and to catch more reviews press FOLLOW🙂

15 thoughts on “New Maybelline the colossal kajal 24hour smudge proof with Aloe vera review , swatch and overall verdict

Leave a Reply

