Nykaa skin genius foundation , review , swatch and overall verdict

An overall makeup look can be stated as flawless with a right foundation , usually when it comes to everyday kind of base I prefer light coverage foundations . Nykaa being an online beauty portal are slowly stepping their game high by new launches , they have launched lip sticks , lipcrayons, eyeliners, metallic nail paints etc not to forget they did add base products too which is a compact powder and a foundation. Today my review revolves around their newest launch which is the skin genius foundation, it did attracted me as it claim to have unique  skin adapting technology  and hyaluronic acid which imparts glow . I got the shade 02 almond beige , lets see how it worked for me…

FullSizeRender (34)

Packaging :-

The nykaa skin genius foundation comes in  a cream plastic  bottle kind of packaging with a black screw cap which to be frank I am not really a big fan of , it looks like a cream bottle to me . One pump oozes out right amount of foundation which is great , the size of bottle is quite tiny therefore it could easily be travel friendly . Overall the packaging dint attract me .

Price :-

INR 575/-

Availability :-

Online at Nykaa.com

FullSizeRender (33)FullSizeRender (32)FullSizeRender (31)

My take on the product:-

Pigmentation, shade,texture and staying ability :-

The nykaa skin genius foundation is available in 5 shades totally , I picked the shade almond beige which is actually perfect match for my MAC NC25 skin tone as it has right amount of yellow undertone to it. Since shade was perfect for me I hardly found any difference to the skin adapting claim.This foundation has slightly runny texture , I usually put one or two drops on my face then blend it using a kabuki brush mind you I did try using beauty blender with this one but as beauty blender has soaking nature this particular runny thin foundation almost disappeared with that therefore a brush or hands works perfect for this one. I like the fact that this foundation blends quite easily and provides a light to medium coverage, it gives hydrating look and evens out my skin tone. It claims to disappear imperfections which is not true at all as the coverage is not high , however it could be great for someone with extremely light marks on the skin. Being blessed with oily skin I make sure to set my face with compact powder or loose powder after foundation application. Initially on application I loved the smooth dewy skin like finish of the foundation however after 3-4 hours it just adds oil to my face and feels quite sticky and tacky . As per the claims it suppose to provide me glow but in reality it just adds extra oil to my face. I have tried several hydrating foundations earlier on my oily skin and it worked better than this particular one. I have used this foundation with several setting powders which did help in providing matte effect but just  for 3-4 hours after which oil starts to sink in.

FullSizeRender (30)

As mentioned earlier this foundation stays well for 3-4hours max on my oily skin after which it creases with oil , definitely a negative point for me. I couldn’t possibly imagine wearing this foundation on hot summers as it would make my face even worse.  I feel for me I could wear this foundation if I am going out for only 1-3 hours. However with everything being said I want to add that this foundation would be great for people with normal to  dry skin and people with minor spots the skin.

Overall verdict:-

The nykaa skin genius foundation is an easy to blend foundation which provides hydrating finish and feels quite light which is not bad at all however for people with oily skin this might not be best option as it makes the skin appear quite oily / tacky after a while. Price point wise I really wish it could work as 575/- is definitely lot of price for foundation like this, I feel below this price I could get amazing foundations from other brands.Therefore a big NO for my oily skin but hey  dry skin beauties this can work for you .

Rating:-

2/5

Connect with me further on,

INSTAGRAM:- beautyaffair101

TWITTER:-beautyaffair101

FB:-beautyaffair101

GOOGLE+:-beautyaffair101@gmail.com

Thank you:) Hope you like it and to catch more reviews press FOLLOW🙂

7 thoughts on “Nykaa skin genius foundation , review , swatch and overall verdict

Leave a Reply

